Club History

The book "Kickhams" club history is available to order here Price 20 euro  
The club as we know it today was formed in 1935 when Knockavilla, Donaskeigh and Dundrum amalgamated to form The Kickham club. This meeting is believed to have been taken place at the newly built Chaplin’s house at the Convent Cross. The first officers were President - Rev Fr. Michael Quinlan, Chairman – Sean O’Dwyer, Vice-chairman – Paddy Cleary, Secretary – Con McCarthy, Treasurer – Michael Ryan (D).
In that first year the club won the West Senior Hurling Championship and again three years later in 1938. The forties and fifties was to be a golden era for the club winning twelve west senior hurling titles between 1946 and 1960. One player who was a member of all twelve winning teams was John Farrell. Between 1943 and 1947 the club also won five minor titles.
After the success of the previous two decades the sixties say a decline in the clubs fortunes until 1966 when a west under 21 hurling title was won and retained again in 1967 and the clubs first county title was claimed.
The seventies and eighties saw the emergence of the club as a dominant force in juvenile competition winning many under age titles in both hurling and football.
The late eighties and nineties say this under age work bear fruit when our adult teams won West titles in Minor Hurling 1990-91, 1993, 1994, and 1999. County Intermediate Hurling 1992, U-21 West Hurling 1993, U-21 County Hurling 1994, West Junior Hurling 1987 and 1998. Before reclaiming The West Senior crown in 1997 and 1999.
Football titles were also won in U-21 1991(County). Minor 1992 (County) and 1999, Junior 1992. Intermediate 1993 and 1996 (County). Senior Championship and league 1998.
Into the new century our Minor and junior hurlers, Intermediate footballers have brought more titles back to the club.
The ladies of the parish have also had their share of glory. The camogie in its present form was founded in 1984. Previous to this a number of attempts were made to have a camogie club in the parish. The first going back as far as the late 1920’s when Tom Duggan tried to form a team.
Later on after the success of the club’s U-21 hurlers in winning a county title in 1968, another attempt was made to form a club and a camogie team played from 1968-1970 approx. We have no records to say they played in championship. A tournament was organised which they won.
The present day club was formed in 1984. In 1985 the U-16 team won the clubs first county title, 1986 followed with u-16 and u-18 winning county titles. A junior league win in 1988 and junior championship win in 1989 saw the club make good progress. 1992 was to be an outstanding year for the club winning three county finals U-12 B, U-16B and Junior. In 1997 the U-14 B team brought back another county title. 2001 and 2002 saw U-12 league wins.
Hurling Titles Won
West Senior Hurling Titles:
1935, 1838, 1946, 1947, 1949, 1950, 1952, 1953, 1954, 1955, 1956, 1958, 1959, 1960, 1997, 1999, 2006.
West Senior hurling League:
1944 (Knockavilla only), 1947, 1949, 1951, 1954, 1957, 1977, 1982, 1993, 1995, 1998, 1999, 2006
West Intermediate Hurling Championship.
1992, (County Title)
West U21 Hurling Championship:
1966, 1967 (County Title), 1986, 1993, 1994(County Title), 2008
West Minor Hurling Championship:
1941(invincibles, Kickhams/Golden), 1943, 1944, 1945, 1946, 1947, 1951, 1955, 1979, 1984, 1990, 1991, 1993, 1994, 1999, 2001, 2002, 2007.
West Junior Hurling Championship:
1931 Knockavilla, 1932 Donaskeigh, 1941 Donaskeigh, 1951, 1952, 1981, 1987, 1998.
West Junior Hurling No. 2. Championship:
1947, 1948, 1950, 1951, 1952, 1968, 1971, 2007.
Football Titles won.
West Senior Football Championship:
West Senior Football League:
 Intermediate Football Championship:
1985, 1993, 1996 (County Title), 2002 (County Title).
 U21 B Football Championship:
1991 (County Title),
 Minor Football Championship:
1979, 1992,B (County Title), 1999, 2006,B
 Junior Football Championship:
1981, (County Title), 1992, (County Title),2009,(County Title)